Designer’s Favorites Challenge – May 2017

Hello friends.

I want to share with you my latest creation for the Finnabair Designer’s Favorites Challenge.

For those of you that don’t know me (which is probably all of you), I stress over almost everything. Try as I might not to, it’s just part of my personality, so approaching this challenge was no different. Main reason: I HATE GLITTER.

In the end, I chose to go with an art journal spread in my trusty, altered book.

When I saw the challenge guidelines, I knew I wanted to go with a vintage color scheme – they are my favorites after all. I chose to go with aqua and ecru because I love how versatile they can be. The image was found by doing a simple google search – of course I made sure to select an image with reuse/modification usage rights.

Many of the elements used were from my stash and “hand-me-downs” from my grandmother’s stash. I have also been trying to use up my non-crafty craft elements like makeup and tissues; so this was the perfect opportunity.

Full Spread

Because I’m trying to use up my current stash before replenishing with more heavy-duty craft supplies, I can’t say I have many Finnabair products at the moment. (Don’t worry, my wish list is continuously growing, though). However, I do have, and absolutely LOVE the rust paste; which I used to accentuate and age my metal elements as well as the chipboard clock that I designed myself.

20170509_093650

20170509_093642

Overall, I’m quite pleased with how this turned out, even though I had NO idea where I was going in the beginning. But I guess that makes for the best creations, right?

First Challenge: Complete

Leave a Reply

