“Not All Who Wander Are Lost” Mixed Media Place Challenge

Hello friends,

Although I haven’t been posting much, I have been quite busy on a number of different projects. One of which was started several months ago with the intention of being something completely different than what it turned out to be.

What started off as a Lord of the Rings themed journal page (yes, I’m a nerd) ended up morphing into a page that I used for the Mixed Media Place April Challenge.

The inspiration/mood board is as follows:

Click the image to visit the Mixed Media Place blog!

I knew the background that I had started all that time ago would be perfect for this theme.

It was the reds and blush tones that really caught my attention, so I wanted to really focus on those. I also didn’t want to stray too much from the original idea I had for this page; so I decided to mesh the two. Here is what I came up with.

20170515_182526

Again, the purpose of my pushing myself to do these challenges is to become more comfortable with different techniques. Where this page is concerned, I wish I could go back and add some chipboard underneath the image to avoid the crinkling…but I guess practice makes perfect.

The main star of this piece was Tim Holtz’s Distress Inks, cling stamps and layering stencils. I used vintage photo and antique linen to get the aged map look I was really going for.

Fun fact: I also used makeup to add dimension and shading where I wanted. (Thank you Maremi SmallArt for that brilliant idea)!

I watered down some of the cheap acrylic paints I already had in my stash and used them to bleed against the background for contrast.

20170515_182707

I’m also kind of becoming obsessed with Finnabair’s Rust Effect Paste, so I wanted to incorporate that at least once into the design.

20170515_182554

For some reason or another, I decided I’m not going to upload my design to the Mixed Media Place blog. Though I am pleased with the way this page turned out, I’m not happy enough with it for it to be a submission. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by!

Xxx Kim

Leave a Reply

