Unlock your Potential – Mixed Media Canvas

Hello friends,

This may be my best work to date.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m proud of all my pieces – they each tell a different story and show my progress along the way – but THIS piece took me completely out of my comfort zone.

Up to this point, I’ve never broken a blank canvas, only stuck with smaller metal embellishments because they’re easier to work with and kept texture to lighter fabrics like cheesecloth or texture paste.

However, when my father presented me with a rusty old lock he picked up at a flea market, I knew almost immediately what I wanted to do with it.

20170516_062919

 

I wanted to start small, so a 5 x 7 canvas seemed the best bet.

I gave it a light coat of gesso before randomly applying layers of Finnabair’s White Crackle Paste. This was my first time using a crackle texture paste so I was a bit unfamiliar with how to create the effect I wanted. After a few layers of trial and error, I stuck with placing random globs of it onto the canvas and was finally able to get those nice deep crackles I was hoping for.

I wanted to stick with a woodland/secret garden type feel for this; so the background was colored using yellow, gold and blue shades of eye-shadow and then edged in Gathered Twigs Distress Ink.

20170516_062934

The rest of the embellishments were actually “handed down” to me by my Grandmother, who was in the crafting business for over 20 years. It’s pretty cool to have the ability to give her “leftovers” some life.

20170516_062943

Please feel free to leave comments!

Thanks for stopping by.

Xxx Kim

 

Leave a Reply

